Hi to all!
Hey guys great to hear from u again! As usual, I got lost and too busy with sickening papers, presentations blah blah blah... so I shall take the opportunity to reply all of u at one go! Here goes..
To Shao: I'm suuuuuper happy to hear from u too!! Yes I do agree Gim Yong has humility issues...perhaps we should follow his example and become more 'humble' ourselves..haha! But it wasn't his humility that gave me the crazy urge to hit my head against the wall (repeatedly) last semester, it was my complete inability to distinguish between his nonsensical 'facts' and his 'real real facts' (which dun happen very often I might add)... so I do empathise with you :) Isn't Rachel taking any mods with you? To like balance out your sanity? heheheh....
To Rachel: haha..too late Janine is already wearing specs!! She has slight astig ...boh bian...now look like little harry potter...but I am not very worried abt this lah..look what a beauty you & Kuan turned out! Got contacts, lasik, cool cool specs... Wish it was due to her over-reading though...But am glad we found out the real cause of why she kept looking sideways whenever she watched tv. When we first suspected she got autism..doctor said autistic kids have a tendency to see things like that...wah piang ackcherlly she got astig lah....
To Yun Kuan: Wuhoo!! U're at yahoo!! Way to go girl!!! Hope u're feeling better now..and yes, it's always good to know what u are taking (even though it's doctor's advice!) This John always say doctors are merely doing guesswork and all u can do is hope that they "hum tum" correctly. Not that I want to parrot him but abit true leh..there was once I went to 2 different doctors and they give me two different diagnosis..one say I have abit of sore throat but think it's more likely to be UTI (urinary tract infection) the other say I could have UTI but more likely it's my tonsils. Hey both at opposite ends of my body k, so what will the ending be?! (no pun intended). What the heck just whack both lah...so I took a strong course of antibotics for the tonsils (which reminded me just how bad my first trimester was cos all my taste buds literally shrivelled up and died due to the antibotics) and a course of meds for my UTI (and ended up with disgusting orange pee..but still smelled like roses of course). In the end, it was my tonsils lah..hope my kidney's still ok man...
Just a side note: ever noticed how some noodles have very strong smell of ammonia too? Or was it just me? Next time before u shove the noodles in ur mouth, smell it with your nose first and let me know what u think ok? I can't ask John cos he has very little scent and taste detectors ( one of my wifely duties is to 'save' him from eating soured curries). All food he tastes will register as either 'ok' (which ranges from the truly delectable to barely palatable food) or the more dangerous category 'interesting' (which means the food has either turned really really bad or it was cooked by a monkey posing as a chef).
Ok...better stop here.. (was taking a breather from my essay writing) Missed u guys lots and wishing all of u good health, good spirits and good grades!
EEWWWW EEEE YUCKS and general disgustingness
i am full of phlegm!
so i have a blocked nose and a cough. boohoo.
i went to the doctor and got some medicine.
that day, i drank 10ml of cough syrup as instructed.
after i swallowed it, a disgusting, stinky smell rose up from the depths of my throat.
it stank to high heavens. it was superbly, supremely, stupendously stinky lar!
it was also a familiar kind of stink. but i couldnt quite place it.
curious, i read the label.
it says:
" every 5ml contains:
- 10mg of diphenhydramine HCL
- 125mg of AMMONIUM chloride (caps are my own, for emphasis)
- 50mg of sodium citrate"
AMMONIUM chloride. AMMONIUM chloride!! i've been drinking ammonia??!!
i wonder. how can stomach juice (HCL) and a component of my urine cure me????
so i asked my friend who is currently in sydney u studying pharmacy.
she said that ammonium chloride and sodium citrate are commonly used together in cough medication to help in the expulsion of phlegm. but there is
no real evidence of this.
and when they say no real evidence, they basically mean that probably, animal testing has been done with the drugs but nothing else.
these drugs are still used because there has been a long tradition of success and nobody has died from it yet.
i find many things wrong with this!! long TRADITION? ahem. i'm consuming a medication based on tradition?
that sounds like a kind of old wives' tale! u know, like in some tribes living in the forest, they have a tradition of eating tree roots to cure infertility or something.
i suffer from ammonium fumes every night because of an old wives' tale!
so. i've been drinking ammonia for 4 nights already.
p.s i swear, the ammonia smell is familiar because it brings me back to my upper sec/JC 1st year days when i had to suffer chem lab. it is not familiar because i smell it everyday in my pee. my pee smells like roses.
Oh my how i've missed you all
I just finished writing a paper for my geography project and my members are nothing like the loving, warm, gentle, beautiful and kind-hearted people like you guys. Oh my heart bleeds at this agony of missing all of you! *bleeds*
Come back into my arms, all of you! We shall endure wind and rain and walk the path of everlasting glory!!!
Hey hey guys! At loooong last...through sheer grit and unwavering perseverence...I the techno idiot & blogging twit, managed to
1) find my own blog which Kuan helped me to set up eons ago and thereafter left shamefully neglected (I forgot my blog name, id..whatever u called it,
2) Recall my password (thanks to the 3mths passwords changing at NUS, my bank, email, facebook, MSN & a godzillion of other accounts. I recently locked myself out of my Singpass. I'm faced with a very difficult dilemma. I can no longer trust my poor brain to remember the passwords but I also cannot write down such important information lest it falls into the hands of unscrupulous criminals. What to do?!)
3) Navigate through the treacherous blogging landscape to...
POST THIS BLOG! At this point, I'm so tired that I can barely continue on...but I shall press on...
HOw are all of you guys? Missed u all lots. Not taking any English mods this sem cos I've finished but I do miss this part of my studies. Give me a quick update leh...like ur health, studies, love life..anything lah.. I'm ok...just getting stressed trying to prepare Janine for P1. Was reading through the parenting forum and super stress lah. Some parents sent their 1 year olds to enrichment, flash cards at them every single freakin day, kids can read at 30 months (not words hor...but whole books ok) ..now learning to writing ...probably publishing her first book by age 5. Scary thing is....this is the NORM now...arrgh!!!! Can someone tell me where's the nearest hole I can find to crawl inside and hide?!!
Oops sorry..got abit agitated there...I'm ok, really...Arggh..I mean haha.. Tell me how's things at your side yah? In the meantime, take care & God bless!
Love.
Lynn
Okay peeps next Tuesday or Thursday! At 7pm? At Orchard. Pick one and the majority vote wins!
My dear lovelies,
it is time for all of us to watch Sweeney Todd together or our lives will not be complete. Join me in my glorious search for everlasting Johnny Deppness!!!! So please be leaving your available dates in the comment box so that you can all see my lovely visage in the week to come.
P.S I know you guys miss me.
P.S.S It's so obvious that it's embarrassing.
P.S.S.S One of the professors in ELang has an asymmetrical face.
lousypoks
i cannot believe you guys threw away your notes when i needed them! if we didn't have lynn what would i do huhhhhh
lauyapoks, all of you